Miles training update 4/23/09

First of all, there were some GREAT shots of Miles from the DKC trial!  It’s so cool when I compare these photos to some that were done last Fall as you can just tell he’s much more drivey and happy 🙂  Here’s a link to a slideshow of some of the better images http://www.photoreflect.com/pr3/AlbumSlideshow.aspx?a=587765

As for training, we went to a local outdoor facility for a drop in class last night to work further on teeter generalization, etc.  Miles was soooo happy there even though the field is lined on one side by a kennel full of barking dogs!  There were only three dogs including us in this class so lots of personal attention was given, which was nice. 

We worked a couple of challenging sequences both including the teeter.  He had zero issues with the teeter, wahoo!  We also worked on our dogwalk contacts since I blew them off over the weekend…bad handler!  He did awesome!  I haven’t even worked on proofing him against my movement in his 2o/2o on anything other than the a-frame at PBH, so I was uber impressed with his ability to stop with me still running forward each and every time.  Such a good boy 🙂

I don’t want to shoot myself in the foot by saying this, but I really feel like he’s over his teeter problem.  Even more importantly, he’s showing much more confidence in new places which is so awesome!  It will be a true test to see how he does in a week at the King trial as it’s in a horse arena…not fully enclosed, but covered and with lots of interesting sniffs.  We’re planning on another trip to the indoor facility for a drop in next week to help with that transition.

Oh and we’re meeting with Wendy Pape for a private tomorrow, yay!

One thought on “Miles training update 4/23/09

  1. I found your blog on google and read a few of your other posts. I just added you to my Google News Reader. Keep up the good work. Look forward to reading more from you in the future.

Leave a Reply

